Den största av alla amerikanska poeter?

On the Beach at Night Alone av Walt Whitman (Penguins Little Black Classics #10)


Alone on the Beach at Night - Walt WhitmanWalt Whitman föddes 1819 på Long Island. Han har i princip sen sin död ansetts vara en av USA:s största diktare. Därför trodde jag att jag skulle bli överrumplat, hänförd och gråtmild av hans dikter. Tyvärr tog de mig inte riktigt med storm, kanske beroende på att mina förväntningar var lite för höga. Jag skulle vilja läsa mer av Whitman för jag förstår trots ett svalt initialt möte att hade ordets gåva.

Nedan delar jag med mig av min favorit ur samlingen. Det jag gillar med den här dikten är stämningen. Hur molnen sveper in över himlavalvet och gör så att man inte kan se himlakropparna. Denna känsla påminner mig om hur ångest kan skölja över en och ta bort allt ljus från ens liv. Men vet ni vad, det finns alltid en ljuspunkt. Det blir dag till sist och de hemska mörka molnen drar sin väg. Underbar dikt! Läs och njut.


On the Beach at Night

On the beach at night,
Stands a child with her father, 
Watching the east, the autumn sky.

Up through the darkness,
While revening clouds, the burial clouds, in black masses spreading,
Lower sullen and fast athwarth and down the sky, 
Amid a transparent clear belt of ether yet left in the cast,
Ascends large and calm the lord-star Jupiter, 
And nigh at hand, only a very little above, 
Swim the delicate sisters the Pleiades.
From the beach the child holding the hand of her father,
Those burial-clouds that lower victorious soon to devour all,
Watching, silently weeps.

Weep not, child,
Weep not, my darling, 
With these kisses let me remove your tears, 
The revening clouds shall not long be victorious, 
They shall not long possess the sky, they devour the stars only in apparation,
Jupiter shall emerge, be patient, watch again an other night, the Pleiades shall emerge,
They are immortal, all those stars both silvery and golden shall shine out again,
The great stars and the little ones shall shine out again, they endure,
The vast immortal suns and the long-enduring pensive moons shall again shine.

Then dearest child mournest thou only for Jupiter?
Considerest thou alone the burial of the stars?

Something there is, 

(With my leaps soothing thee, adding I whisper,
I give thee the first suggestion, the problem and indirection,)
Something there is more immortal even than the stars,
(Many the burials, many the days and nights, passing away,)
Something that shall endure longer even than lustrous Jupiter,
Longer than sun or any revolving satellite,
Or the radiant sisters the Pleiades.


Rekommenderas för: Poesiälskare, anglofiler och för den som vill läsa riktigt klassisk poesi

4/5 Kajsa Ankor
Betyg 4


 

 

 

Kommentera

