Minirecensioner x4: Grafiska romaner

the worriersThe Worrier’s Guide to Life – Gemma Correll

Från Goodreads: If you’re floundering in life, striking out in love, struggling to pay the rent, and worried about it all — you’re in luck! World Champion Worrier and Expert Insomniac Gemma Correll is here to assure you that it could be much, much worse. In her hugely popular comic drawings, Gemma Correll dispenses dubious advice and unreliable information on life as she sees it, including The Dystopian Zodiac, Reward Stickers for Grown-Ups, Palm Reading for Millennials, and a Map of the Introvert’s Heart. For all you fellow agonizers, fretters, and nervous wrecks, this book is for you. Read it and weep…with laughter.

Detta är ju egentligen ingen grafisk roman utan mer ett humorseriealbum där seriestrips varvas med roliga teckningar om en introverts kvinnas liv. Jag ser mig inte som introvert överhuvudtaget men vissa saker känner jag igen mig i. Jag är en orolig själ och det är nog den delen som jag känner igen mig i. En väldigt rolig bok med fina svartvita illustrationer och en humor som påminner om den galghumor som jag älskar.

Betyg: 5/5 Kajsa Ankor


criminalCriminal Volume 1: Coward – Ed Brubaker & Sean Phillips

Från Goodreads: The best-selling crime series returns to print in strikingly-designed new editions from Image, starting where it all began. Criminal Volume 1: Coward – a new take on noir that turned the heist story on its head, and created a whole new underworld for Brubaker and Phillips to explore.

Ett bankrån går fel och antihjälten hamnar i trubbel. Noirstämningen till trots gillar jag det inte. Jag kommer aldrig in i historien och karaktärerna intresserar mig inte. Men författaren och illustratören har flera kända serier i sitt bagage så gillar ni lite smutsiga kriminalhistorier är detta en grafisk roman för er.

Betyg: 1,5/5 Kajsa Ankor


Bang! TangoBang! Tango – Joe Kelly and Adrian Sibar

Från Goodreads: Vincente Ponticello has a new life. New York, the mob, and all its horrors are a distant memory, and Vinnie is on his way to becoming a world-class ballroom dancer…until Autumn blows into San Francisco. Autumn, the one who broke his heart, the one he left behind…begging Vinnie to pull one last job: Rob the sadistic mob boss who wants him dead so she can afford the gender reassignment surgery that will make her the woman Vinnie always wanted. Remastering the provocative Vertigo series, this new volume presents Bang! Tango as it was always meant to be!

Det här var en av de sämsta grafiska romaner jag någonsin läst. Illustrationerna passade inte mig. Handlingen var ointressant och karaktärerna vulgära. Gillar man dans kanske det kan locka till läsning. Tyvärr tillhör jag inte den skaran och boken föll därmed platt.

Betyg: 0,5/5 Kajsa Ankor


TreesTrees – Warren Ellis and Jason Howard

Från GoodreadsTen years after they landed. All over the world. And they did nothing, standing on the surface of the Earth like trees, exerting their silent pressure on the world, as if there were no-one here and nothing under foot. Ten years since we learned that there is intelligent life in the universe, but that they did not recognize us as intelligent or alive. Trees looks at a near-future world where life goes on in the shadows of the Trees: in China, where a young painter arrives in the “special cultural zone” of a city under a Tree; in Italy, where a young woman under the menacing protection of a fascist gang meets an old man who wants to teach her terrible skills; and in Svalbard, where a research team is discovering, by accident, that the Trees may not be dormant after all, and the awful threat they truly represent.

Ännu en bok där illustrationerna inte föll mig i smaken. De passade mig så pass dåligt att det blev svårt för mig att komma in i handlingen. Jag gillar konceptet. Stora träd kommer ner till jorden och bara står där. Eller gör de verkligen det? Varför kommunicerar inte denna intelligenta ras med oss? Är vi helt enkelt inte smarta nog..?

Betyg: 1,5/5 Kajsa Ankor

Kommentera

