Minirecensioner x5: Graphic Novels

Outcast Vol. 1: A Darkness Surrounds Him – Robert KirkmanOutcast

Från Goodreads: Kyle Barnes has been plagued by demonic possession all his life and now he needs answers. Unfortunately, what he uncovers along the way could bring about the end of life on Earth as we know it. Collects OUTCAST BY KIRKMAN & AZACETA #1-6.

OUTCAST är skriven av samma författare som skrivit The Walking Dead, Robert Kirkman. Jag har inte läst den serien och det beror mest på att jag inte gillar zombies. Så då tänkte jag ge den här en chans när jag såg den på Netgalley. Tyvärr var den inte riktigt det jag förväntade mig. Den var seg och långtråkig med alldeles för lite action. Illustrationerna var däremot väldigt fina. Det kändes som om den här volymen var introduktionen till en lång serie. En serie som jag inte kommer att fortsätta med.

Betyg: 2/5 Kajsa Ankor

 

 

The Scarlet Letter MangaManga Classics: The Scarlett Letter – Stacy King

Från Goodreads: A powerful tale of forbidden love, shame, and revenge comes to life in Manga Classics: The Scarlet Letter. Faithfully adapted by Crystal Chan from the original novel, this new edition features stunning artwork by SunNeko Lee (Manga Classics: Les Miserables) which will give old and new readers alike a fresh insight into the Nathaniel Hawthorne’s tragic saga of Puritan America.

Jag har inte läst originalboken så jag visste inte vad som väntade mig. Handlingen tillsammans med de väldigt fina teckningarna gjorde detta till en trevlig upplevelse. Jag skulle gärna vilja läsa fler klassiker på detta vis.

Betyg: 4/5 Kajsa Ankor

 

 

Love Volume 1: The Tiger – Frédéric BrrémaudLove the tiger

Från Goodreads: A day in the life of the king of the jungle, this lavishly illustrated story follows a single majestic tiger through a wordless adventure of survival as it hunts prey and defends itself from other would-be killers defending their territory. This exciting tale is told without narration or dialogue, conveyed entirely through the beautiful illustrations of Federico Bertolucci. A beautiful, all-ages title that explores genuine natural behavior through the dramatic lens of Disney-esque storytelling. Like a nature documentary in illustration.

Det här var en fröjd för ögat. Ingen text överhuvudtaget. Endast illustrationer. Jag skulle kunna tänka mig att ha i princip varje sida på väggen i en ram. Färgerna, djuren, miljön… Ja, allt var så snyggt. Lite Disney-anda över det hela men samtidigt är boken ganska mörk. Den är skrämmande men trots det helt naturlig. Survival of the Fittest, så att säga.

Betyg: 4,5/5 Kajsa Ankor

 

 

Alone ForeverAlone Forever: The Singles Collection – Liz Prince

Från Goodreads: Liz Prince, author of the world’s cutest relationship comic, ”Will You Still Love Me If I Wet the Bed?,” returns with a new comic about being – gasp! – SINGLE. Finally bringing her popular webcomic to printed form, Alone Forever explores the joys of flying solo, free to focus on what really matters: comics, punk rock, and cute boys with beards. Drawn in Liz Prince’s ultra-charming style, filled with self-deprecation and cats, there’s something for everyone to relate to in this celebration of self-reliance in the age of OkCupid. 

Liz Prince var en ny bekantskap för mig. Hon skriver och tecknar humoristiskt och denna bok var fylld av små, korta strippar där hon berättar om hennes dejtingliv. Det började väldigt bra men det blev tyvärr tjatigt till sist. Rekommenderad läsning men läs lite i taget, inte allt på en gång. En perfekt gästtoalettbok, helt enkelt!

Betyg: 3/5 Kajsa Ankor

 

 

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Ghostbusters #1: Crossing the Divide – EricTMNT och Ghostbusters Burnham

Från IDW: When a new invention goes haywire, the Turtles are sent to a whole new type of New York City. One with a whole lot more ghosts… and Ghostbusters! The two teams will have to learn to get along quickly, because a new foe from the Turtles past has followed them and aims to conquer NYC!

Ska jag vara helt ärlig så har jag inte sett alla Ghostbusters-filmerna. Jag har heller inte sett speciellt många avsnitt av TMNT. Men när den här dök upp på Netgalley så var illustrationerna så inbjudande att jag inte kunde stå emot. Det var rolig och snabbläsning. De har sammansmält de båda världarna väldigt bra. Kan tänka mig att läsa nästa del också.

Betyg: 3,5/5 Kajsa Ankor

En reaktion på ”Minirecensioner x5: Graphic Novels

Kommentera

